Skip to content

Pizza & Pea Sprouts

April 4, 2010

Cut & ready to eat!

Inspired by a delicious funghi pizza on last night’s bar menu, I opted to do something similar for The Boy tonight (he didn’t go out and I know he would have loved the pizza). Fortunately, I didn’t have to leave the house as I had an extra container of Pillsbury pizza dough and some cremini mushrooms (aka tiny portabella) that have been sitting in my refrigerator for about a week now (ew to some, I know). Since we had been eating not-so-well all day, I also added a salad made of pea sprouts. Pea sprouts? Yup, pea sprouts (only because I’m a moron and picked it up instead of watercress at the store) served with a dressing (well, one version of it) that I encounter anytime anyone in my family cooks a beef salad. (Mmmmm . . . someday, I’ll make a recipe attempt but in the meantime,  this is a good one to try. Although they steer from the salad route, it’s still a good beef recipe.)

Pea sprouts - not quite watercress

No beef. But that’s okay. It was a nice, light dinner.

The Boy’s Reaction:

On the pizza –
“I loooooooove pizza!” [And when asked if he liked this or the Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita better] “It’s hard to say. But the crust isn’t burnt tonight!”

On the pea sprouts –
“I don’t think we’ve ever had this before, have we? I like it.”

Funghi & Spinach Pizza

13.8-ounce tube refrigerated pizza dough (Pillsbury is a safe bet)
1/2 to 3/4 cup baby spinach
3 tablespoons olive oil
12-14 cremini mushrooms, sliced
1 tablespoon balsamic  vinegar & 1/4 cup of water (this was my substitution for wine. I didn’t want to open a bottle and tempt myself into a glass)
salt & pepper, to taste
4 ounces fresh mozzarella, diced

Preheat oven 425-degrees.

Lightly grease 12×8″ baking pan. Roll out pizza dough. Sprinkle spinach over dough. Set aside.

In a small pan, heat olive oil and add mushrooms. Toss for about 5 minutes. Add vinegar & water. Keep cooking until most of the liquid evaporates. Add salt & pepper. Remove from heat. Spread evenly onto the dough. Add mozzarella.

Bake for 15-20 minutes (just a friendly reminder to keep an eye on the baking to prevent burning the crust).

Enjoy (I can almost guarantee there won’t be leftovers).

Pea Sprouts & Dressing

1/4 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Combine ingredients in bowl and whisk together.

Wash 2 handfuls of pea sprouts. Divide between two plates. Pour dressing on salad.

Ready to eat!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

