Skip to content

banana + coffee = good morning

April 17, 2013

banana and coffee smoothie

Good morning! Apologies for gloomy-looking picture, but it is a cloudy morning as the weather is stuck in “April showers”.

In any case….

I’ve been using my blender quite a bit lately. I’m getting older and realizing that my diet has much room for improvement. I’ve been making daily Glowing Green Smoothies, which looks not-so-great to people who aren’t used to it but you’d be surprised with 1) how decent it is on your first sip (like beer, coffee and wine – at least in my experience – you develop a taste for it over time) and 2) the energy that get from drinking these. I sound like a crazy tree hugger (maybe I am becoming one…not sure), but try replacing one meal with 24 oz (or more) of this shake and you’ll see what I mean. The Boy was dubious but took an 8-oz serving one morning. No effect, but he did admit that he needed more greens in his life so he continued drinking them as I made them. By the third morning, he felt the surge of energy.  (“But I’m also hungry,” he whined. At this point, he realized 8 ounces wasn’t going to cut it.) Kimberly Snyder will tell you that you should drink these in the morning. But I don’t want no stinkin’ green smoothie in the morning. I want my coffee.

Awhile back, I had made a “chocolate milk” with almonds, water, bananas and cocoa. Naturally, I wondered if adding coffee would make it a mocha and alas, it kinda does! I might even prefer this shake over a traditional mocha. Maybe. I wanted to call it the Poor Man’s Mocha Shake, but that’s too much off a mouthful. Let’s just go with Monkey Joe (a name inspired by The Frozen Monkey). Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that you should try Monkey Joe.

Monkey Joe

1/2 cup water
1 oz almonds
1 date
1 banana
1 t cocoa
a sprinkle or two of cinnamon
1 t flax seed (optional)
1/2 cup coffee or espresso – Make it as strong as you want it!

Add water and almonds to blender. If you can let the nuts soak overnight, that would probably work best (so that they can sprout and also soften to blend more easily). Otherwise, just go for it. Blend away. Then, add all the ingredients except the coffee. Continue blending as you add the coffee through the top (let the steam escape).

Bam – there’s your Monkey Joe. You’ll feel the buzz in 3…2…1….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Willis permalink
    April 18, 2013 5:54 pm

    Great drink, will have to try as I just read eating more potassium(bananas) can help prevent strokes. Two thumbs up!!!

    • Diana permalink
      April 19, 2013 9:09 am

      We’ve been on a smoothie kick, and I realized last night that we went through 1.5 dozen bananas this week. It’s a record!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

