Skip to content

lentil soup

April 22, 2013

lentil soup, girl feeds boy

I love red lentils with injera at Ethiopian restaurants and lentil soup served at Afghanistan restaurants. Mmmmmm….So I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to bring these little beans into my kitchen. Recently, I stumbled upon a lentil taco recipe (from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Kitchen), which I stared at for a week before I finally turned on the stove…and took a detour by attempting the Afghanistan lentil soup that was also on my mind. (Plus, I didn’t want to make the pico de gallo that I knew The Boy and I would want with the tacos.)

Results: I no longer need to rely on Afghanistan restaurants for my soup fix. (But I’ll still order it!) The Boy likes this soup too, but he doesn’t seem to get giddy for this as I do. (Makes sense as his food weaknesses seem to  be potatoes, bread, pasta and dessert.) That’s fine. More for me!

I will attempt that taco recipe one of these days!

The Girl’s Lentil Soup*
3 tablespoons grapeseed oil
1/2 red onion
3-4 cloves garlic
2 teaspoons herbes de provence
8 ounces (about 1/2 bag)  green lentils
28-oz can whole peeled tomatoes
dry white wine
water
1-2 tablespoon cumin, to taste
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
salt and pepper

Heat oil in large pot. Add garlic and saute until fragrant (a minute or two). Add onion and cook until soft. Add salt, pepper and herbes de provence. Add lentils and stir until mixed thoroughly. Add tomatoes. Break up with the spoon you’re stirring with (or grab a knife if that’s easier). Fill the can with white wine and pour into the pot. Add the same amount of water. Bring to a boil, and then lower temperature to a simmer. Let cook for 30 minutes on medium low heat, stirring occasionally. At the end of the cooking time, add cumin, paprika and cilantro. Grab your hand blender and run until everything looks moderately coarse. (Of course, you don’t have to do this if you don’t want. Or you can use a blender, but blend in batches and make sure the vent cap is removed from the lid to allow the steam to escape. Who can handle a mess in the kitchen?)

Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with baguette. (I’m pretty sure if you want, you could grab some pasta and consider this a bolognese sauce of some sort.)

*Not necessarily an Afghan recipe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Willis permalink
    April 24, 2013 3:29 pm

    Looks great, would be great for chilly nights.

  2. Diana permalink
    April 24, 2013 5:01 pm

    Definitely! :) Thanks for stopping by, Willis.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

