Skip to content

Vegan My Risotto

January 6, 2010

After all the meat-eating from the holidays, I thought it was time to give our bodies a break. This resulted in a lighter-fare lunch consisting of Lime Risotto with Peas, adapted from Robin Robertson’s recipe Lemon Risotto with Peas and Scallions from her Vegan Planet cookbook. I really liked Roberton’s recipe when I made it the first time (although since you’ll rarely find a lemon in my fridge, I went with lime). Because I made this as an after thought (aka I was starving) this time around, I didn’t have all the ingredients to concoct the original recipe. It still worked.

The Boy & I ate the risotto with cucumbers for a light lunch.

Perfect light lunch

I  will say that if all vegan dishes were this good and hearty, giving up meat wouldn’t ever be a questioned issue!

The Boy’s Review: I’ll eat this everyday for lunch this week.

Lime Risotto with Peas Recipe:

6 cups water
1 vegetable bouillon cube
2 limes
3 tablespoons of olive oil (I used rosemary-infused olive oil)
2 cups of Arborio rice
1 cup of thawed peas (if frozen, nuke it for 90 seconds)
Salt & pepper

Bring water to boil. Add bouillon cube and juice of the limes. Reduce heat to low, so that the broth is simmering.

Add olive oil to separate pan over medium-high heat. When heated, add rice. Stir around pan for about 2 minutes. Add 1/2 cup of the broth from the still-simmering broth. Stir rice until broth absorbed. Add another 1/2 cup of broth. Repeat steps.

When there is about 1 cup of the broth remaining in the pot, add peas to the rice until blended in with the rice. Continue adding the broth at 1/2 cup intervals until done.

Add salt and pepper to taste. Feel free to add more lime as well!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

