Skip to content

Damn-Near-Perfect Flourless Chocolate Cake

January 10, 2010

I am not a baker. At all. I don’t like how everything has to be measured out to get the perfect amount of moisture and rise. To me, it’s a complicated science. And honestly, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. Yes, I’ll get into desserts but usually because I like the pick-me-up of the sugar.  I don’t crave sweets like I crave salty snacks. The Boy, on the other hand, well he has a severe sweet tooth.  Severe. In the morning, he puts condensed milk in his coffee (a habit he picked up from me although I have switched to rice milk and a spoonful of sugar). At work, I’m sure he sneaks in a Coke and a few candy bars during the day. After dinner, he will have – on average – 2 or 3 desserts. It’s nuts.

But one night, I was the one with flourless chocolate cake on the mind. Don’t know why, but I did. Berghoff has a wonderful recipe but 13 eggs is too much for me to comprehend (but it’s really good so I may just try it someday!). Instead, I went with something simpler that I found in my Gourmet Cookbook (the recipe in the cookbook is doubled and the batter ends up in a 10″ pan). Oh wow.

Flourless chocolate cake - naked

So easy, so good.

Flourless Chocolate Cake - topped with cocoa powder

Sweet tooth or not, try it! (If you don’t like it, someone else definitely will.)

The Boy’s Reaction: “Ohmigod, yum!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

