Skip to content

Bun Ga Nuong (aka Grilled Chicken and Vermicelli Noodles)

January 15, 2010

Dried rice vermicelli noodles

The Boy and I love leftovers.

In our world, leftovers is just a better version of what we ate the night (or two or three) before. So when we opened the refrigerator to find leftover grilled chicken from the weekend, we were stoked. Off to try something I had never really made before – bun (otherwise known as rice vermicelli noodle). I love rice noodles.

Bun is another story.

Bun and I have a bad history. When I was five, I had a vomit spell after eating a bowl of it. I stopped eating it again until I was 7. Of course, there was a repeat incident. I was hesitant to try it again but I did twenty years later while lunching with some coworkers at a new “Vietnamese” restaurant near the office. Not much was promising in terms of authenticity except for the bun. I was reluctant but I ordered it (it was either that or cry through a bowl of pho that I knew I wouldn’t recognize).

I ate it. And didn’t have the urge to throw up. Actually, I quite enjoyed it.

Anyway, if there is meat on hand, bun is pretty easy to whip up and even easier to enjoy. Usually, if you have the bun, grilled meat, cucumbers, nuoc cham, lettuce, mint or basil leaves and (if you want) peanuts you’re good to go.

We, of course, were without lettuce and mint (and basil!) leaves. But it still worked.

Assembled bun ga noung

The Boy’s Reaction: “This is fabulous!”

More fabulous – my 30 year old stomach is loving bun again!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 12:51 am

    thank goodness!! bun is such a great staple to clean out left over meats and vegges from the fridge and it’ll taste like you spent hours preparing 🙂

    • January 16, 2010 3:15 am

      I had no idea it was a way to rid of leftovers! Let me know if you have another method of Leftover Destruction! 😉

  2. January 16, 2010 11:32 pm

    Your post is funny. It starts out with 2 vomit session…and ends happily ever after? Keep rock’n the vnese food. If I ever make a vnese cafe sua da ice cream. I’ll ping you.

    • January 18, 2010 1:44 am

      Yes, it’s a Vietnamese fairy tale! Ha ha ha ha. And yes, let me know about the ice cream!

Leave a Reply

