Skip to content

Lemongrass Chicken

January 20, 2010

I recently made Andrea Nguyen’s lemongrass beef skewers . Since I had leftover lemongrass from that cooking session, I wondered if the same marinade would work on chicken. Late last week, I gave it a try and introduced some chicken thighs to the marinade. I set them aside with intentions of grilling them within the hour.

The thighs marinated for 3 days.

On the third day, I was on the tired side but knew I had to cook the chicken. But I just didn’t feel like grilling. (Whine.) Instead, I threw the chicken in a 350-degree oven for 30 minutes (20 minutes on one side and 10 on the other). Smelled really good. Tasted decent. (The marinade is definitely better on the beef.) And it definitely wasn’t on the dry side (yay to dark meat). Truthfully, I could take it or leave it and ended up putting the chicken in the fridge.

This morning, I was running late as always. I packed the chicken in with some green beans for lunch, which I didn’t end up eating as I had an impromptu lunch outing and got some Chinese. Naturally, the chicken took back seat to a chicken-fried-rice lunch . . . yum! The Boy also had the chicken in his lunch but because he’s somewhat resistant to green beans (something about the texture freaks him out – weird, yes) I placed the chicken in with some leftover rice noodles and peanut sauce. Didn’t think much of it until his after-lunch text.

The Text: “PHENOMENAL.”

I was surprised but unconvinced. I later realized that he liked it so much because he enjoyed a chicken as a chicken (instead of comparing it to the beef version like I had) and because the peanut sauce complemented it well.

The lessons:

  • Hindsight tells me that grilling would have been the preferred (um, better) cooking method. It worked for the beef version!
  • Um, don’t compare (or confuse) the taste of beef with chicken.
  • Peanut sauce makes everything taste better.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 2:07 pm

    I love lemon so I’ll sure like this chicken. Goes well with rice….yum

  2. January 21, 2010 2:07 pm

    Oh, I mean lemon grass, not lemon. So sorry about that.

  3. January 22, 2010 5:25 am

    I think you’ll like it too – don’t forget the peanut sauce! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

