Skip to content

What To Do with Leftover Rice

February 2, 2010

I woke up yesterday morning with fried rice on the mind. Not exactly sure why except maybe because I haven’t had it in awhile. When we lived in the city, The Boy and I would go to Chinatown on a whim A LOT. These days, we live in the suburbs and driving 45 minutes for fried rice isn’t always the rational thing to do . After some attempts at suburban Chinese establishments, it’s just easier to accept that fried rice is a novelty now.

Ugh.

But because I’m making an effort to cook more, I am striving to perfect this recipe. So, like our trips to Chinatown, I attempted this recipe on a whim and relied on my memory as both my parents used to make this (this is one of about 3 things my mom makes well). I supposed it would have been easier just to call one of them, but that would have required way too much effort (dragging the information out of them is a pain). So I just figured it out on my own. It only took 1 2 tries. (I realized in the first batch that I needed lay off the oyster sauce and completely omitted it from the next cooking trial.)

The perks of cooking this at home was that I could make the rice as crispy as I wanted to. I’ve never had the guts to make that or any special request in Chinatown (a crowd at an Asian restaurant usually indicates that the food – not service – is good). But at home, I’m free to add a little burnt crisp to the surface. Awesome.

The Boy’s Review: “I love this! And the house smells good too!”

Vegetable Fried Rice:

3 cups of day-old rice
2 eggs
3 tablespoons oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 stalks green onion, chop the white parts into small pieces . . . .  cut the green stems into 1-2″ chunks
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 cup spinach, chopped
1 cup peas
1/4 cup soy sauce (I use light)
dash of Maggi seasoning
1/2 t. salt
pepper, to taste

In skillet or wok, lightly scramble egg. Remove egg from pan and place aside.

In same pan, add oil. Once hot, add garlic, the whites of the green onions and bell peppers. Stir until the garlic and onion have a golden color. Add rice and cook until it becomes warm (could take up to 10 minutes – you may also need to break the rice apart as it tends to clump when cold). Add the remaining green onions, spinach and peas. Stir everything for about 5 minutes and add the soy sauce. Stir and add the remaining ingredients. Adjust the the seasonings (soy sauce, Maggi, salt and pepper) to your personal taste. You can cook the fried rice until it’s hot. Or if you’re like me, you can wait and wait and wait until it gets a little crispy.

Eat away!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

