Skip to content

I Do Not Know What to Make of This

February 3, 2010

From the Asian grocery store near our house:

I am scratching myself as I write this.

(Sorry for the bad angle/glare.)

UPDATE:

I asked my dad about this, who confirmed that these are silk worms. Well, retired silkworms who don’t produce anymore silk. Apparently, they’re known for being high in protein and taste best when they’re cooked right away. The frozen version isn’t that great.

The Boy works with a Vietnamese man, who is more Vietnamese than I’ll ever be (i.e. he grew up in Vietnam). Usually quiet, the Vietnamese man became animated as he described how good silkworms are.

There will not be a future GFB recipe post for ground cucumbers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

