Skip to content

I Made a Dutch Baby

February 6, 2010

After a rough morning walk with Giada, I had waffles and (turkey) bacon on the mind. Two problems: we don’t own a waffle iron and we didn’t have turkey bacon in the house.

Crazy Giada. If there's a new layer of snow and you have her on a leash, you're screwed.

Plan B: well, there wasn’t a one. Not outside of going to a pancake house (I hate how my clothes smell afterwards) or to a grocery store (we were too lazy for that). As The Boy turned the kitchen inside-out for the waffle iron and turkey bacon we didn’t have, I opened up Joy of Cooking. If the recipe was easy enough, I was willing to take a quick trip to Target to get a waffle iron. I ended up taking a detour with another recipe.

Dutch Baby – a German pancake that promised to be puffy. And easy.

It really was a cinch to make the batter. While it was baking away in the oven, I started sauteing bananas in butter and light rum. The cooking resulted in flames, which scared me at first and then it was just fascinating to look at (sorry, no picture). I could have eaten the sauteed bananas right then and there.

Time for the Dutch Baby to come out. It wasn’t as puffy as I thought it would be. I also didn’t expect to lose the handle of my frying pan.

Broken handle - see?

But still a good breakfast nonetheless.

Dutch Babies are awesome.

The Boy’s Reaction: He smiled and devoured his 2nd piece in no time. No words needed.

Sauteed Bananas:

1/4 cup butter (fake butter is okay)
2 bananas, sliced
3 tablespoons of rum (I used light rum)

In small pan, melt butter. Add bananas. Toss in heat for about 2 minutes. Add rum carefully. Keep a careful eye on the flame because you will get flames. (Don’t be surprised by it. I’m just saying . . .) Let the flame die and heat for another minute.

You’re good to go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. The Brunette permalink
    February 8, 2010 5:26 pm

    You really can’t go wrong with carbs topped with caramelized bananas! Also, curious to see what becomes of that ground cucumber.

  2. February 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    I left the ground cucumber back at the store. You won’t be seeing us eat them on this blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

