Skip to content

Egg: It’s What’s for Dinner

February 23, 2010


My stomach was hurting last night. Probably from the heavy Indian lunch I had with my coworker, so I stuck with soup for dinner. The Boy, I knew, wanted something substantial so I went with something quick and easy my dad used to make.

Now Hung was not big on feeding my brother and me eggs when we were younger. So when he made a Vietnamese Omelette, it was somewhat of a treat. I loved it, but to this day, a little goes a long way. A couple of egg bites is all I need. The Boy, on the other hand, is egg-static (sorry) when it comes to the stuff and doesn’t hold back when it’s time for a little yolk action. During our trip to Vietnam a couple of years ago, he was surprised to see that many people eat eggs (sunny side or over easy with several dashes of Maggi and black pepper). “I thought Vietnamese people don’t eat eggs,” he whispered while in a breakfast buffet line on one tour. “They totally do. I just don’t,” I replied. As soon as I said it, I knew we’d be seeing more eggs in our future. Fortunately, for him, we have.

So last night – a Vietnamese Omelette for The Boy.

The Boy’s Reaction: Nonverbal. Food scarfed down in two minutes (yes, everything you see on that plate).

Vietnamese (Vegetarian) Omelette

3 T olive oil
5 white button mushrooms, sliced
3 stalks green onion, chopped
6 eggs
½ cup chopped spinach (add more if you want more green)
½ bunch bean thread noodles, cut into 1-2” pieces
¼ cup cilantro
½ t. black pepper
1-1/2 T fish sauce

Place oil in heated pan. When the oil is hot, add green onions and mushrooms. Toss until mushrooms are soft (could take up to 10 minutes). (If you need to add more moisture to pan, add water or broth a tablespoon at a time.) While they are cooking, combine remaining ingredients in a separate bowl and mix. Add to the pan. Bring heat to medium high and let egg cooks for about 5-10 minutes (you can push the egg mixture toward the center so that the overflow can fall under). If you have enough guts, flip the omelette without a spatula (just have confidence, even if it ends up on the floor and all over the stove). Whatever the method, flip the omelette so that it can cook on the other side. Total cooking time could be up to 20 minutes.

Serve with rice. You can pretty much eat it like this, with soy sauce, sriracha or nuoc cham. (The Boy went with nuoc cham.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 4:18 am

    we used to eat a version of this all the time growing up. mixed it with ground pork and dill and dipped in chile and soy sauce.

    • February 24, 2010 3:58 pm

      That’s pretty much how we ate it too! Count your lucky stars that your mom still cooks!

Leave a Reply

