Skip to content

Big Easy Croissant

March 5, 2010

The Boy loves croissants. I’m sure he would pick a flaky croissant over ice cream (another food favorite) in most instances. Even in New Orleans, he chose (gasp) them over beignets. In fact, after he dropped me off at the starting line for the Rock ‘N’ Roll Mardi Gras Half Marathon on Sunday morning, The Boy took Tim and Christine (our friends who joined us on the trip) to Croissant D’or – a place he discovered last time we were in town.

This place beats beignets, at least it does for The Boy.

Now I remember liking this place, but he remembered loving it. I thought maybe he built it up in his head, but Tim & Christine gave it rave reviews (I think The Boy paid them off – or at least paid for their croissants) as have a few others. I guess I missed out.

This sign adds Cool Points to the place.

As an aside,  I had every intention of making N.O. Big Easy Virgin t-shirts for Tim & Christine (since neither of them had been) before we left for the trip. Didn’t quite work out, but I wonder if it’s too late to give them something like this?

The Big Easy shirt
The Big Easy by dianalynnnguyen
Browse more Big T-Shirts

Maybe?

In any case, we are back home in Suburban Land. Last night, as I was standing in line for the grocery store, my inner-impulse shopper picked up a box of croissants. As you may have gathered, I am not offering any clever croissant recipes in this entry (as I don’t have any), but I do want to offer a piece of advice for the betterment of the croissant.

How to Improve a Store-Bought Croissant

When you wake up in the morning, turn the oven to 200-degrees. Without even waiting for it to preheat, place the croissant in for about 10 minutes (and if you need to brush your teeth, shower and get dressed then psh, take your time. It’s not going to burn at 200-degrees). I promise that your croissant will come out flaky on the outside & warm and soft on the inside. Most of you will feel like you’re getting a taste of Paris. The Boy usually transcends back to The Big Easy.  Same thing, I guess.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

