Skip to content

Drowning . . .

March 15, 2010
tags:


Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a good weekend. The Boy and I were tied up with bathroom remodeling this weekend – something I’ve been avoiding since I first moved in. Although he has lived in the house for about 10 years, I’ve only been there for about a year and a half with the mindset that it was a temporary situation. The intention was to live in this suburban hell hole for a year and then head back to the city. Unfortunately, between the housing market and us trying to be financially intelligent that’s not exactly how things have worked out for us. I just recently (earlier this month) surrendered to the fact that we’ll be here a little while longer, so I’m trying to make the best of the situation and add some UMPHF to the current design scheme (i.e. there is none). I started off with the smallest room in the house – a 25 square foot hallway bathroom. Truth be told, I don’t have any experience with interior design so I started this off blindly, thinking that everything would be done by the end of the weekend. A little too presumptuous considering I’ve never painted, tiled or even shown any interest in home improvement before. I’m sure it’ll be awhile before I attempt another house project. In the meantime, my newly painted red door has to hang out in the living room for a few more days. Sigh.

This was supposed to be a solo project (The Boy gave me the pass to do whatever), but he has done more than his fair share. I owe him a lot of meals. But as you may have gathered, I didn’t do much cooking this weekend. We could have had leftover cioppino that I had made earlier in the week. But The Boy doesn’t allow this to last more than a few days, and I seriously had a huge pot of this stuff! I will have to do a better job with measuring this out next time, but here is a rough idea of how it was assembled  . . .

Cioppino:

½ cup of olive oil
½ head of garlic, chop (some may think this is excessive but I don’t think it is!)
1 yellow onion, chopped
Black pepper
Kosher salt
1 green pepper, chopped
2 cans peeled tomatoes (roughly chop the tomatoes by running a knife through the cans)
2-3 cans of water, depending how thick or thin you want the stew (you can substitute fish broth)
½ bottle of red wine (drink the remaining bottle at your own discretion)
10 fresh basil leaves, chopped
2 bay leaves
2 filets of white fish, chop in 1” chunks (I used cod)
1 large squid, chop in strips (this is an interested experience)
15 mussels or clams (yeah, make sure these are rinsed well)
(I stopped here because we like broth, but feel free to add more seafood according to your tastes.)

In a large stock pot, heat olive oil. Add garlic and onions. Stir until onion is soft. Sprinkle with a few dashes of black pepper and about 1 tablespoon of salt. Add green pepper. Stir until soft. Add tomatoes, water, red wine, basil and bay leaves. Bring to boil. Turn down to a simmer for about 10 minutes. Add fish. Let cook for about 10 minutes. Add squid and let cook for about 10-15 minutes. Add shellfish. When the shells opens, you are ready to eat!

I would recommend not looking at the dog when cooking this dish.

Feed me.

Unless you like Begging Eyes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

