Skip to content

Jewish Noodles?

April 5, 2010

Star of David?

About a month ago, my coworker and I stepped into an Indian grocery store to look for fennel seeds (we nosh on them as after-lunch breath mints) and encountered pasta in the shape of the star of David. My coworker said to buy them and surprise The Boy (who grew up Jewish). I did and hid them when I got home.

Yesterday, they came out of hiding and made their debut. On Easter.

Hmmmm . . .

The Boy looked at them and said, “Are those what I think they are?” I smirked. “How cool,” he said. “Jewish noodles! Jewdles!”

Geez.

While the Jewdles went over well, I am still confused as to why they were sold at an Indian grocery store. Anyone know? I’ve never seen them at the Italian grocery store I frequent, so even more confusing! I’ll take any answer. In the meantime  . . .

Jewdles with Chicken & Peas

The Boy’s Reaction: “I love my Jewdles!”

Jewdles with Chicken & Peas

2 cups cooked star pasta (but really, whatever shape you want to use is fine)
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ lb ground chicken
2 green onions (green & white parts), chopped
¼ cup water
½ cup peas
1 teaspoon kosher salt
Pepper to taste

Cook pasta in salted water, according to package directions.

In separate skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Add green onions. Cook until wilted. Add ground chicken. Cook until the meat is no longer pink. Add water and peas. Continue cooking until water dissolves. Add salt & pepper to taste.

Assemble pasta in dish. Place chicken & peas mixture on top of pasta. Add a couple dashes of Maggi seasoning if needed (completely optional).

Happy pasta eating!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

