Skip to content

Pasta e Grapes?

April 15, 2010

Today was a hot day (high 70s), relative to the recent Chicago weather. And nothing sounded better than a salad. By that, I mean pasta salad. (I swear I’m part Italian.) Now you can always count on me to have pasta on hand, but olives, capers and feta? Nope. But I had grapes, zucchini and tomatoes. Do they all work in a pasta salad? Psh, totally. The grapes too? You betcha! And because I’ve always had pasta salad made with white vinegar, I was curious to see if some good quality balsamic vinegar would work. (In my humble opinion, it does.)

The Boy’s Reaction: “I like like like this.” [He worked late last night and left the house at 5:30 this morning, so I don’t think he was too articulate this evening.]

Pasta Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

1/2 lb rigatoni (or whatever shape you feel like using)
1 cup of green grapes
1 zucchini, quartered and then cut into chunks
1 large tomato, diced
1/2 c balsamic vinegar
1/2 c olive oil
6 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed
12 basil leaves, chopped
salt & pepper to taste

While the pasta is cooking (in salted water!!!), take grapes and halve them. Throw in a large bowl. Add zucchini and tomato pieces. Set aside. In a small bowl, add balsamic vinegar, olive oil and garlic. Whisk together. Add a dash of black pepper. Set aside.

When the pasta is done cooking, add to the large bowl (with the vegetables). Pour contents of the smaller bowl on top. Toss large spoon (or with hands). Top with basil. Flavor with salt and pepper.

Ready to eat! Don’t be afraid to enjoy with some vino.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2014 11:10 am

    I constantly emailed this webpage post page to all my friends,
    as if like to read it next my friends will too.

Leave a Reply

