Skip to content

Batter Up

April 19, 2010

I woke up on Sunday with waffles on the mind. I think it had something to do with the freakin’ fabulous Belgium waffle we had at a nearby breakfast diner the morning before. Mmmm . . . it was THAT good on top of the fact that we haven’t had one in awhile.

The Boy went in the yard to play with Giada (after she sat next to our bed panting noisily for 5 minutes) while I took my time stumbling downstairs to start making waffles. Admittedly, the only time I’ve made waffles was with an Aunt Jemimah mix with my ex-boyfriend six years ago (when he wasn’t my ex-boyfriend) using his waffle iron. I never liked waffles as much as he did, but still, it doesn’t give me an excuse to let let six years pass without making one. I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that The Boy and I are used to paying for our breakfasts (we love our greasy spoons on the weekends). We’re gradually starting to eat weekend breakfasts/brunches at home, but it’s a hard habit to break. But Sunday morning, I made the attempt and pulled out my Joy of Cooking cookbook and used the basic waffle batter recipe (making some slight modifications) and drove out to buy a waffle iron.

Naturally, my cravings changed once I returned home from buying the iron. The Boy and I ended up having pho for breakfast. The waffle would just have to wait.

This (Monday) morning, as I was running between the kitchen and the bedroom trying to get ready for work, I plugged in the new waffle iron, brushed it with a bit of vegetable oil and ladled in 2 scoops of batter. Ran back upstairs to finish getting ready and came back down to the kitchen when I heard the loud beep (“BEEP BEEP BEEP!!!!”) of the iron indicating that the waffle was done. Music to my ears.

Not bad for a Monday morning, huh?

The Boy’s Reaction: “I could get used to this!”

Basic Wheat Waffles

Adapted from 1997’s Joy of Cooking

Dry Ingredients
1-1/2 cups of whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Wet Ingredients
3 eggs
1/4 cup of butter (1/2 of a stick)
1-3/4 cups of non-dairy milk

Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Set aside.

Whisk the wet ingredients together and gradually add the dry ingredients.

Heat waffle iron. Follow manufacturer’s instructions that comes with the waffle iron (mine suggested 2 cups of batter per waffle) for cooking.

Serve with maple syrup. Enjoy with a cup of coffee. You can’t have a bad day after one of these.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

