Skip to content

Aloo Gobi

May 3, 2010

Aloo Gobi: Potatoes & Cauliflower Curry

I’ve been on an Indian kick lately. The Boy doesn’t mind because he gets a home cooked meal without having to lift a finger (in all fairness, he earns his meals). Giada also doesn’t complain as it means leftover basmati rice in her bowl. We’re creating some bad habits with this one.

I like bad habits that include basmati rice.

In any case, I decided to make some Aloo Gobi (Potato & Cauliflower Curry) on Friday night. When I asked my coworker about it, she first told me to look into fresh tomatoes or at least a can of diced tomatoes (instead of crushed tomatoes). She also asked me to reconsider cauliflower since “there are better vegetables out there, like broccoli, green beans and peas”. She gave me a surprised look when I said cauliflower is one of my favorite vegetables. He he. But I did run with her suggestion and used 2 large tomatoes I had in my fridge. I probably could have used another one, but that wasn’t the problem with this recipe – I had used 2 serrano chiles. One would have been plenty. Two is for those who can handle the heat. I obviously couldn’t as my stomach was burning for two hours after the meal. (Accompanying this meal with a glass of milk probably wouldn’t hurt.)

The Boy’s Reaction: “Whoa, wow! This has a kick. I liked it at first but wow.” [I don’t think he liked this too much, but that might be because he’s not on this Indian kick with me.]

Aloo Gabi

Note: Not quite perfected

3 tablespoons olive toil
1/2 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups potatoes, diced
2 serrano peppers, chopped (you should either scale back to one or do not use at all if you don’t have a high tolerance for spicy food)
2 teaspoon ground coriander
2 teaspoon ground cumin
2 tablespoons grated ginger (take about an inch of a stub, peel it and then grate)
2.5 cups water
1/2 cauliflower, cut up (vary the sizes)
2 large tomatoes, diced (or a 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes)
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon garam masala
1/3 cup cilantro

Heat oil. Add onions and garlic. Cook until onions are soft and almost translucent. Add potatoes, pepper, ginger, coriander and cumin. Cook until potatoes are soft (about 20 minutes). During the process, you can add 1/2 cup of water. When the potatoes become soft, add tomatoes, cauliflower, turmeric and 1 cup of water (you can add the last cup of water if the gravy looks too thick). Keep over the stove on medium heat until the cauliflower is soft and gravy becomes thick, stirring occasionally. (Go ahead & check email. Come back when you’re done and I’m sure the gravy will have thickened up.)

Finish the cooking process by adding garam masala and cilantro.

Serve with basmati rice and naan.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 12:20 pm

    That’s a lovely dish. I would love it with rice too.

Leave a Reply

