Skip to content

Egg-static

May 18, 2010

I invited Van over for Mother’s Day last Sunday. Instead of going out or making a Food Network worthy meal, I made Van a pretty traditional Vietnamese meal since she doesn’t cook. Now, in case I haven’t mentioned it before, Vietnamese food is pretty stinky. I mean it’s awesomely good, but for those not acquainted with Vietnamese food, it’s pretty potent. So on nights I make Vietnamese food, I absolutely do not bring it to lunch the next day. I have no desire to kill my coworkers since I sometimes eat at my desk. But with Sunday being Mother’s Day, I didn’t really have a thought about lunch the next day. So when I rolled out of bed on Monday morning I made what anyone would make when they have nothing to eat – peanut butter and jelly sandwich. It’s been forever since I’ve had a PB&J sandwich, which got me thinking . . . it’s been forever since I’ve ever had an egg salad sandwich. And I’m not sure if I’ve ever made it.

It's simple . . . and sometimes just hits the spot

To get to the point –  I made an attempt at it.

And of course, I didn’t have any mayo at home. Great, a challenge. That’s okay – mayo not needed. All you need are eggs, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. That’s it? Yup!

The Boy’s Reaction: “I love egg salad! So does Giada!” [as he puts a spoonful in her bowl]

"You'll put some in my bowl, right?"

Egg Salad

8 hard boiled eggs
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
salt & pepper, to taste

Place eggs in bowl. Run knife through eggs and do a rough chop of the eggs. Add olive oil. Toss until the yolks start to soften and blend. Add white wine vinegar. Blend together. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve immediately between two pieces of bread. You can also chill and enjoy later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

