Skip to content

Red Snapper

June 3, 2010

I bought red snapper on a whim about a month ago. I sauteed the fish on both sides and created a red sauce for it. Pretty good. Except for the scales I didn’t bother scraping off. Yuck.

This time around, I took of the scales and used leftover marinara sauce and added some spinach. I am trying to get in 5-7 servings of fruits and vegetables in each day – this dish pretty much got me there. Whew. On that note, I am looking to make more diet changes this month. I will probably eat more fish and chicken and less red meat (which I crave it ALL THE TIME). My recipes will most likely reflect my attempt at this change. Since it’s summer, the farmer stands are out and while The Boy and I have overlooked local produce in the past, this year we’ll support it. Trying to eat better and help our the local establishments too. Plus, the fruits and vegetables are always kick ass at the farmer stands.

Back back to the red snapper . . .

The Boy’s Reaction: He was very quiet but had seconds.

Red Snapper in Your Favorite Red Sauce

1 red fish (sorry, I don’t remember how big the fish was but was about 10″ long) – REMOVE THE SCALES
3 tablespoons of olive oil
4 cups of red sauce
1/2 cup of dry red wine
1/2 cup of baby spinach (a packed 1/2 cup!)

Sprinkle salt and pepper on both sides of the fish. Throw some olive oil into a large pan over high heat. When oil becomes hot, add fish. Saute for 2 minutes on one side. Flip and cook on the other side. Bring the fish on its original side and then add tomato sauce and red wine. Do your best to stir the sauce around the fish. Bring sauce to a simmer and bring heat down to low. Walk away – let the fish cook for 20 minutes. Come back and CAREFULLY flip the fish (it helps to use a large spatula). Cook for another 20 minutes on this side. Again, walk away and do something else. When you come back, add the spinach. The fish is done when the spinach wilts and softens (about 3 minutes).

Serve with pasta. We ate our fish with a store-bought mushroom-stuffed ravioli. OMG good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

