Skip to content

Slow Simmer

June 13, 2010

Sundays are typically a relaxing day for The Boy and me. Usually, you’ll find me on the couch watching a marathon of Show XYZ on Bravo, E! or VH1. The Boy, on the other hand, is doing what relaxes him – work. To each his own!

My mom is planning to stop over tonight to organize her stash (er, junk) that she keeps in our spare bedroom. She always comes over looking for food to eat. Seeing that we have nothing but leftovers in the fridge (the kitchen didn’t get much use the past week), I figured that I’d make a chicken broth. Chicken broth is pretty versatile in Vietnamese cooking, as it is in other cultures that use it. So I figure that we can have it on hand to make mi ga (egg noodle soup with shredded chicken), which is what I’m sure my mom will want (luckily, I have egg noodles on hand) or chao (rice congee) that I have been antsy to make for a few weeks now.

But before I can move forward with anything, I need broth.

Simmering away . . .

Vietnamese Chicken Broth

The Boy’s Reaction (taste test): “Mmmmm . . . I love chicken broth!”

Lazy Asian’s Chicken Broth

🙂

2 quarts of water
2 lbs chicken (this can be a whole chicken or a collection of bones)
2 yellow onions, quartered
two 2″ ginger stubs, skin removed

Bring water to a boil over high heat. Add chicken,onion and ginger. When it boils again, bring heat down to a low simmer. Let it go for at least 3 hours. Season with black pepper, fish sauce and salt – adjust according to personal taste. Discard onion, ginger and chicken* before serving.

*I know you’re technically supposed to throw away the entire chicken, but I keep the chicken breast and thighs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

