Skip to content

No More Canned Soup!

July 21, 2010

I didn’t cook over the weekend. It was too hot, so The Boy and I were fine going out for our meals. I got some ideas for future meals,so it worked out alright. Unfortunately, it meant there weren’t any leftovers to bring to work Monday. After running errands on my lunch break, I made a stop at the grocery store where there are usually 3 large pots of soup for the lunch crowd. Not that afternoon (although I suppose it makes sense as Chicago is experiencing a super hot & muggy July). Ugh. So I grabbed a can of soup off the shelf and figured I’d heat it up when I got back to work.

Beef Vegetable with Barley Soup. Mmmmm . . . sadly, it sounds better than it tasted. Processed food kind of sucks sometimes. I texted The Boy and told him my lunched sucked and intended to make the soup I should have had for lunch. “Ok!” was his simple reply back.

I love a good sport. And a good soup.

beef vegetable barley soup

Today's Tuperware Lunch

The Boy’s Reaction: “Ooooo . . . this is delectable!”

(F*ck Canned Soup and Make Your Own) Vegetable-Beef Soup (Instead)

8 cups of stock (I used the chicken stock I had on hand)
can of whole tomatoes (cut up the tomatoes  or you can simplify and get a can of diced tomatoes)
1/4 lb of sirloin (or whatever cut of beef), cut in small pieces (pinch-sized)
4 carrots, chopped into 1/2″ parts
4 stalks of celery, chopped into 1/2″ sections
1/2 lb green beans,cut in 1-2″ pieces
1/2 cup corn
2 cups of water
1 bouillon cube (I used vegetable)
1/2 cup barley, uncooked
salt & pepper, to taste

Bring stock to a boil. Add carrots. Keep stock at a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes. Add green beans and canned tomatoes. When the soup comes to a boil, continue cooking for 10 minutes. Then, add celery and bouillon cube. When the celery is soft (about 10-15 minutes), add water and barley. Cook until barley is soft – about another 30 minutes. Season with salt & pepper.

Yum.

NOTE: Next time, I’ll probably add a bay leaf to the beginning of the cooking process.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

