Skip to content

Farro & Cauliflower

July 22, 2010

Farro and roasted Cauliflower

Last Friday night, I met some friends at Taxim in Wicker Park (a hip Chicago neighborhood). Taxim specializes in Greek small plates. No joke, I think we ate our way through the entire “tapas” menu and also ordered entrees. By the time the entrees came, my eyes were ready to pop out. Luckily, my friend Jen and I were sharing the lamb chops with bulgar. It was absolutely fantastic. I only wish that The Boy had been out with us (he opted to go home to rest and get some work done . . . on a Friday night), so I thought it’d be cool to recreate one part of the meal for him. I wanted to start with the bulgar concoction, which included sliced almonds and currants. Yum. The only issue was that when I ended up at the Italian grocery store I frequent, I couldn’t find bulgar. Nor could I find currants.

Enter farro. And dried cranberries. Oh, and the random cauliflower. By golly, I think we have dinner.

The Boy’s Reaction: “This is sooooo delectable!!!”

Almond-Cranberry Farro

1 cup of dried farro
2 cups of water
1 garlic clove, crush using garlic press
2 T olive oil
1 t. balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup dried cranberries, chopped
1/2 cup baby spinach, chopped (optional)
salt & pepper, to taste
juice of 1/2 a lemon, to taste

In a rice cooker, add farro and water. Let it cook – and find something to do for about 25 minutes. Then come back. When the farro is done, stir in all the ingredients in order in which they are listed.

That’s it!

Roasted Cauliflower

1 head of cauliflower
3 T olive oil
1 t. salt
pepper, a few dashes

Preheat oven to 400-degrees. Cut cauliflower florets in different chunk sizes. Place on baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 30 minutes (at the halfway point, open the oven and mix the cauliflower around so that all the sides get a chance to bake and to make sure nothing sticks to the baking sheet).

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2013 7:14 am

    Very nice post. I certainly appreciate this site. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

