Skip to content

And this is what I do with leftover steak . . .

July 29, 2010

beef risotto

I was driving home last Friday with food and booze on the mind. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to eat although I knew I’d be okay with meat loaf, mashed potatoes, polenta and a Blue Moon. Then, I got logical and opted to make an attempt at clearing out our fridge. Making a mental tally, I knew there was steak and blue cheese that could probably be eaten. And this was okay as I had had a taste for some on the unhealthy side. (I helped myself to a glass of wine while I was cooking, so that taste for blue cheese subsided during the process.) I also knew there was plenty of green onions, mushrooms . . . and arborio rice.

Risotto it was going to be!

Not exactly a 30 minute meal like the night before, but it was still on a quicker side (drinking helps). Risotto is easy but it is a dish you have to keep an eye on.

The Boy’s Reaction: “Mmmmmm . . . mmmmmm!!!!!! MMMMM!!!!!! This is sooooooooo good!” Awesome.

Cleaning Out the Fridge Steak and Mushroom Risotto

4 cups water
1 vegetable bouillon cube
1 cup arborio rice
3 T olive oil
4 cloves of garlic, minced
6 green onions, chopped (both white & green parts)
1/2 cup of red wine
2 cups of mushrooms (I used baby portabellos but you can use white button mushrooms)
1 cup spinach
1 cup of steak,cubed (I used leftover skirt steak)
black pepper, to taste
blue cheese, to garnish

In a small pot, boil water and add bouillon cube. Bring down to a simmer.

In large pot, heat olive oil in high heat. Add garlic when oil heats up. Cook until golden. Add green onions and cook until wilted. Add rice and toss around for about a minute. Bring down to medium-high heat. Add 1/2 cup broth from the small pot. Stir until liquid is cooked into the rice. Add another 1/2 cup of broth and continue cooking. Keep adding broth until 2-1/2 cups of broth have been added to the risotto. At that point, add wine to the broth. Raise the heat until the broth & wine come to a boil.Bring back down to a simmer. In the meantime, add mushrooms to the risotto. Cook together for about 5 minutes. Then, continue adding liquid to the risotto 1/2 cup two more times. Add spinach and steak.Cook together until spinach wilts. Continue adding broth 1/2 cup at at time. The risotto should be finished when the last 1/2 cup has been cooked into the rice.

Dish out and if you’d like, garnish with blue cheese.

Enjoy!

Notes:

I didn’t use any salt for this dish. Between the bouillon cube and steak, the sodium was covered.

The Boy got blue cheese and said it really helped to complete the dish. I declined the cheese and thought it was good.

This could be easily vegetarian if you omit the steak. Just as easy to keep it vegan by omitting the steak and cheese.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 9:28 pm

    No butter necessary?? I thought that was what made risotto delectable!

Leave a Reply

