Skip to content

Friday Night

August 14, 2010

The week went quickly, but The Boy and I are both glad to see that Friday is here.
Giada the dog, girlfeedsboy
So is Giada.

I haven’t written down many recipes lately, but I have been cooking!

See?

Chicken in white wine sauce

Chicken in white wine sauce. Wine makes food taste better.

Broccoli & beef

Broccoli & beef - a Panda Express classic. Was my first attempt. I can probably run the fast food chain now.

Beef, peas & bowtie pasta

Beef, peas & bowtie pasta (Episode: When Asians Do Italian)

Tonight, I feel inclined to write. So here I go . . .

For the last three days, we started eating something new – salad. The Boy and I like salad – we order it at restaurants and happily eat it if that’s what’s on our plate. We just don’t eat it at home. I always thought of the prep work was an inconvenience – cutting, rinsing, draining, draining, draining . . . yeah, the draining part was what I was stuck on. As luck would have it, we went to our friends’ house last weekend and saw a salad spinner in action for the 100th time in our lives. That 100th time was my (better late than never) Aha! moment. There was a voice in my head that said, “Duh, you should get a salad spinner.” I obliged. So earlier this week, I ordered one online. It hasn’t come yet, but we started eating salad regardless.

And honestly, I’ve never felt better. Must be something in the greens.

We continued sticking with the salad them tonight, but also expanded our menu to include a protein and carbs (hey, it’s Friday). So salad with grilled chicken & capellini pomodoro. Yum.

The Boy’s Reaction: “This was a great dinner. Can I eat the rest of the pasta?” [He somehow refrained from doing so.]

grilled chicken with spinach salad, jimica

Spinach Salad with Jimica & Italian Dressing Chicken

Italian Dressing Chicken*

1 lb chicken breast
bottle of store-bought Italian dressing

Tenderize the chicken. Place in container and cover with Italian dressing. Let it marinade for at least an hour (overnight is ideal). When ready to eat, grill.

Enjoy with . . .

Spinach & Jimica Salad

2 cups baby spinach, washed
1/2 cup jimica, chopped (whatever size chunks you’d like)
1 garlic clove, pressed or minced
2 T red wine vinegar
2-3 T extra virgin olive oil
salt & pepper, to taste

In a large bowl, add ingredients one by one (in the order in which it’s listed in the recipe). Toss and serve.

Salad is so damn easy. 🙂

Capellini Pomodoro (Angel Hair Pasta with Tons of Tomatoes)

capellini pomodoro, angel hair pasta with tomatoes

I love pasta.

8 oz dry angel hair pasta, cook according to package directions
2 T extra virgin olive oil
5 garlic cloves, minced
3 plum tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup marinara sauce
8 basil leaves, chopped

While the pasta is cooking, heat olive oil in large pan. Add garlic. Cook garlic until golden brown. Add tomatoes and cook until soft (about 5 minutes). Add marinara sauce. Cook for about 10 minutes. Add basil. When the pasta is done cooking, add it directly from pot (it’s ok – even ideal – to allow some of the pasta water to come into the “sauce” pot). Mix together. Add salt & pepper to taste.

Yum.

*I totally stole the recipe from my ex-boyfriend’s mom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

