Skip to content

Doppelbock Bread

September 5, 2011

I respect Mark Bittman.

Bittman.

Yes, sometime he comes off a little angry and arrogant, but I usually let those characteristics go when people like that know what they’re taking about. And Bittman, I have to say, knows what he’s talking about. In yesterday’s New York Times Magazine, he discusses  beer. More specifically, beer in your food.

Well, I don’t have to be convinced that this is a good thing.

I eyed the first listed recipe – Doppelbock Bread. Okay, I thought to myself, looks do-able. And it is. Even if you don’t have Spaten Optimator beer on hand (I had Domaine DuPage on hand – let’s hear it for the beer from my hometown!).

And you know what?

I like this bread. But it’s not really something you can enjoy on its own. This bread wants friends.

So yesterday, I ate it with a hearty bowl of split pea soup. And this morning, I ate it with a little bit of jelly. Mark says you should try it with this Ale, Cheddar and Cauliflower Soup. I don’t think that’s a bad idea. Then again, he usually knows what he’s talking about.

P.S. The Boy liked this bread. A LOT.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

